The Stations of The Cross

THE STATIONS OF THE CROSS has been a popular means of praying for over 1500 years.

The Stations represent fourteen moments of Christ’s journey from his condemnation by Pontius Pilate through to his crucifixion and burial.  The route Jesus took through Jerusalem is known as the Via Dolorosa – The Way of Sorrows, and the stations there are believed to be in the actual locations they occurred. For those who can’t go to Jerusalem, Catholic churches (and chapels) will have the stations around the walls of the church so that the faithful can journey with Jesus. It is customary to pray the Stations in Lent, usually on Fridays.

We ask Mary our Mother to pray for us as we prepare for Good Friday: Hail Mary…

Prayer: Make time to pray the Stations of the Cross this Lent

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star